heart chakra

The Heart Chakra is the fourth chakra in the body’s energy system.  The Heart Chakra acts as an internal conduit through which acceptance can be received and given, enabling the self to find comfort and strength by experiencing the power of love.

The Heart Chakra also acts as an internal conduit to all the other chakras in the body’s energy system, which enables them to be united together. The Heart Chakra seeks a harmonious connection with the internal self and the external universe and others.

The Heart Chakra shifts the self away from the focus of its own survival, emotions and power (the focus of the first three chakras) to focus outside the self in a more collectively compassionate way. The Heart Chakra’s works to bring the unity of all life into the consciousness.  Its mission is to experience love by giving and receiving unconditional love.

An imbalanced Heart Chakra can lead to co-dependency, insecurity, isolation, and loneliness. Imbalances can lead to exhaustion by giving too much of yourself to others.  Imbalances in the Heart Chakra can be fixed by drawing on the source of universal energy and remembering that we are all connected.


  • Compassionate
  • Generous
  • Loving
  • Healthy Relationships


  • Relationship problems
  • Feeling isolated
  • Asthma
  • Skin conditions
  • Heart Attack
  • Circulatory problems
  • Low blood pressure
  • High blood pressure


Location: center of the chest

Represents: love

Development Ages:  22-28

Corresponding chakra:  none

Sensory Function: touch

Associated body parts:  rib cage, heart, lungs, circulation, skin, hands, arms, upper back


Colour: green

Symbol: hexagon

Element: air

Spice: basil, sage, thyme

Food: leafy greens, spinach, kale

Gemstones: rose quartz, jade, aventurine

Aromatic Oils: rose, jasmine, tarragon

Bach flowers: red chestnut, willow, chicory




Sit up tall and straight, with your shoulders pulled back to open your chest up to the heavens.  Place your right palm over the middle of your chest, laying your left palm over top your right hand. Pay attention to your breath by breathing in and out slowly and intentionally. Feel your chest rise and fall with each inhalation and exhalation. Close your eyes and envision the colour emerald green swirling around in the palm of your hand and flowing to your heart chakra. Envision your chest warm, radiant and full of loving energy. Focus your intent on filling your heart chakra with this loving energy.

After five minutes end your meditation with inhaling deeply into your belly and remove your hands from your chest.  Let the emerald energy of love rest and be still in your heart chakra and then release your mediation.


Rose quartz, also referred to as the love stone, it is a wonderful crystal to aide in balancing your heart chakra.  Rose quartz attracts love of all kinds; self-love, family love, platonic love and romantic love.  What a great stone to help bring unconditional love -energy to your heart chakra.

Lay on your back in a comfortable position.  Place the rose quartz crystal in the middle of your chest and breathe in deeply through your nose and hold that breathe in for the count of ten. Slowly release your breath through your mouth. Do this ten times while the crystal is still in place. After your tenth breathe you can remove the rose crystal. Remember to get up slowly. The crystal knows how much energy it needs to provide so if it falls off during your crystal therapy session you can conclude your session.

After your Crystal Therapy session, I recommend cleansing the gemstones of any Sha Chi (negative energy) absorbed during the therapy session by  placing the gemstone in a bowl of water with a teaspoon of salt, which will re-energize the gemstone with Sheng Chi (positive energy) and rinse away any remaining Sha Chi (negative energy).


  • I am open to love and kindness
  • All love resides within my heart.
  • I deeply and completely love and accept myself.
  • I am wanted and loved.
  • I live in balance, in a state of gracefulness and gratitude.
  • I am connected with other human beings.
  • I feel a sense of unity with nature and animals.
  • I accept things as they are.
  • I am peaceful.